top of page

Learning Journal: Primary Science and Technology


Curricular Content

Increased experience with the Science and Technology curriculum renders connections more readily apparent between expectations. Implementing 'backwards design' in planning, i.e. beginning broad and working to narrow the focus in planning lessons and assessment allows for a seamless unit. This year solidified the importance of backwards design and the necessity of cross curricular lessons as each lesson takes an incredible amount of time.

My limited recollection of primary science emphasizes how real world connections and hands on experiences are key to remembering some of those 'big ideas'. Speaking with colleagues illustrates the importance of familiarizing oneself with more of the curricular document than simply the grade or strand of focus. Co-teaching and using existing frameworks becomes invaluable to manage time while implementing the required content.

Strategies

Teaching strategies I experienced growing up were lecture style and very prescribed, even experiments were conducted at the front of the class. As a result, I have opted to implement the opposite in my teaching practice. Student centred experiential education allows learning through experimenting, investigating, inquiring, and playing.

This year, implementing stations offered students the chance to investigate while communicating which enhanced discovery. Small groups allowed for organic learning while affording even reserved children the opportunity to participate. Science Saturday workshops showed me the potential of entertaining and engaging hands-on activities. My goal moving forward is to foster student curiosity through incorporating interactive lessons.

Processes

Despite being interested in science, I do not recall enjoying the subject in school as it consisted largely of worksheets, textbooks, and note taking. The process of science should be one of hands-on discovery where children can question, get excited, and engage. Each exploration should allow students to grow and learn.

I implemented a field experience as the initial lesson of my Living Things unit for a class comprised mostly of English Language Learners. Students were encouraged to draw things they identified as 'living' in the schoolyard. With a plethora of entry points, regardless of proficiency in English, all students were engaged, excited, and inquisitive.

Planning

Creating and instructing lessons that are differentiated and largely experiential allows that all students can succeed, which is the beauty of primary science. This helps build self-esteem and resilience which will encourage risk taking. However, amazing experiences for students to discover and inquire requires more planning and preparation by the teacher. I was constantly collecting materials and making props for students to explore.

Planning with backwards design made teaching much easier. After having a detailed unit plan I simply had to expand each lesson prior to teaching. Not only did this eliminate the panicked feeling of needing to complete a lesson for the next day, it also offered me a sense of peace knowing that I could expand in class. I learned I am flexible with my teaching and am comfortable playing on the interests of students.

Delivery

The Science Saturday workshops taught me a new way of delivering curricular content and reformed my philosophy of teaching science i.e. a hands-on exploratory approach rather than an instructional one. This creates a positive learning environment, and encourages critical thinking as students have to navigate their own learning. A hands-on approach allows students to explore without limiting learning based on familiarity with the English language.

Community partners like Scientists in the Schools are also amazing for students as they can offer intricate hands-on lessons far beyond the scope of an average educator. Allowing the delivery of material through alternate sources keeps experiences new and interesting. Field experiences are another fantastic way to deliver curricular content.

Assessment and Evaluation

Testing was prevalent throughout my experience in primary science and for some students poor grades had devastating effects. Alternate assessment methods I prefer include: observation and conferencing. This allows students to explain their rationale and offer a more accurate representation of their knowledge.

Assessment remains the most daunting task for me as an educator. My conferencing is improving, however, I need to ensure more diligent note taking. I have become more adept at answering student questions with guided questions so as to enhance learning. I am still uneasy about the complexities of writing write report cards for English Language Learners. Through continued experience I know I will hone my teaching strategies, assessment methods, and philosophy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page